Product Information:-

  • Journals
  • Books
  • Case Studies
  • Regional information
Real World Research - #RealWorldResearch
Request a service from our experts.

2017 Emerald/EFMD Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards

International recognition and cash awards for the best doctoral research

Judging in progress. Winners will be announced Summer 2018.

Logo: EFMD.Emerald Publishing was founded in 1967 to champion new ideas that would advance the research and practice of business and management. Today, we continue to nurture fresh thinking in applied fields where we feel we can make a real difference and seek to celebrate excellence in research by sponsoring the 2017 Emerald/EFMD Outstanding Doctoral Research Awards.

Odra Award Categories are sponsored by the following journals:

Operations and production management

Category sponsored by International Journal of Operations & Production Management

Logistics and supply chain management

Category sponsored by International Journal of Logistics Management

Educational leadership and strategy

Category sponsored by Journal of Educational Administration

Management and governance

Category sponsored by Management Decision

Human resource management

Category sponsored by Personnel Review

Leadership and organization development

Category sponsored by Leadership & Organization Development Journal

Health care management

Category sponsored by Journal of Health Organization and Management

Tourism and Hospitality Management

Category sponsored by Tourism Review


Category sponsored by European Journal of Marketing


Category sponsored by Managerial Finance

For further information, please read the Frequently Asked Questions.


Lynsey Henshall
Author Engagement Assistant

Previous winners


To be eligible for the awards, the research must address an issue that is of importance to one of the various subject areas listed here.

The awards are open to those who have completed and satisfied examination requirements for a doctoral award, between 15 Jan 2015 and 15 January 2018, and have not applied previously for one of these awards.

Judging criteria

The entries will be judged by the Editor(s) and at least one Editorial Advisory Board member of the sponsoring journal. Entries will be judged on the following criteria:

  1. Significance/implications for theory and practice.
  2. Originality and innovation.
  3. Appropriateness and application of the methodology.
  4. Quality of data/research.

Shortlisted applicants may be required to answer further questions as appropriate from the judging panel. Winners will be required to submit an unpublished paper, sole- or joint-authored, derived from the research, within six months of winning the Award. The Editors reserve the right not to select a winning paper if, in their judgment, none of the entries is considered satisfactory.

Please note that the decision of the judges is final. Due to the large number of submissions, applicants will not receive any feedback.